Hair Prettiness

5 Tips to Retaining Hair Length.

“But if a woman have long hair, it is a glory to her: for her hair is given her for a covering.” (1 Corinthians 11:15)

I believe that scripture with all of my heart. As a result, I make it a point to treat my hair with respect, love and gentle care. I want it to reflect God’s glory and handle it as such. I want to share with you ways that I have cared for my hair in a way that has caused it to grow and flourish. Let your glory shine for Jesus, gals!

One.

Less shampoo, more conditioner.

Shampoo strips your hair of it’s natural oils which will in turn combat moisture. Even some of the most “moisturizing” shampoos can cause your hair to feel dry and stripped. This is why I choose to use a cleansing conditioner instead of a shampoo. It allows my hair to retain as much moisture as possible.

 

Two. 

The less heat, the better. 

My hair journey has consisted of very minimal heat. In recent times, I rarely ever use heat. Even though kinky hair may appear to be strong, it is actually the weakest hair type in its make up. Any time our hair is manipulated by heat we run the risk of causing serious heat damage. Heat damage leads to dry hair, loss of natural curl pattern and ultimately breakage. You’ll be much better off without it! There are so many ways to achieve sleek, curly, stretched and full hairstyles without heat.

Three. 

Ditch the comb and use your fingers.

Yes finger detangling. Don’t cringe, it’s really not that bad (when you do it often enough). I rarely use a comb or any type of detangling tool on my hair. My fingers do the trick just fine. Make sure your hair is damp or wet before finger detangling to avoid snapping or breaking your hair. I know this is a huge reason why I’ve retained so much length. It is a much more gentler way to free your hair of tangles.

Four.

 

Low manipulation hairstyle lifestyle 🙂

The more you can keep your hands out of your hair the better! Opt for buns, braids, twist, etc throughout the week to keep your ends protected. If you wear your hair out all the time, you won’t retain length as fast because it is subject to harm (for example: the elements in the air, rubbing on your clothes, etc).

Five.

Accept your hair for what it is.

If you spend tons of time trying to mold your hair into something it isn’t, you will never retain length. Accept your hair as God made it. My hair gets frizzy so quickly, it is thick in volume but my strands are very fine, it is prone to dryness, and I have extremely tight curls resulting in major shrinkage all the time. In parts of my hair journey I spent tons of time “ooo-ing” and “ahh-ing” over naturals with perfect ringlet curls that didn’t shrink, exceptionally sleek styles, twists that last for months, etc.. Finally I realized that I can’t make my hair be what it isn’t. My hair isn’t straight, it doesn’t show it’s true length, it requires constant maintenance… but I have learned to love and accept that. God made it that way and it’s quite pretty.

What are your tips for retaining your hair length? 

One thought on “5 Tips to Retaining Hair Length.

  1. Thank you! Still learning to embrace my hair for what it is & isn’t! Trying to teach my girls the same….been missing your posts! Glad to get this one!

    Like

Leave a Reply

